Loyola University Maryland’s Athletics Hall of Fame Committee has selected eight individuals and one team to comprise the Class of 2020 induction group.

Head Men’s Lacrosse Coach Charley Toomey has been a part of the Loyola community since 1986 when he came to the school as a goalkeeper for the program. During his time as a player for Loyola, he was a two-time All-American, and he backstopped the Greyhounds to their first-ever appearance in the NCAA Championship Game in 1990. As a three-year starter, he was 25-5 between the pipes, and he still ranks among Loyola’s all-time leaders in saves and goals-against average. He transitioned to the sideline as an assistant to then-head coach Dave Cottle in 1991, beginning a career path which has continued ever since. He was named the Greyhounds’ head coach before the 2006 season and has since put together a 150-71 (.679) record, and he is one of only two men’s lacrosse coaches (Cottle) to win 100-plus game at Loyola. The Greyhounds reached the pinnacle of college lacrosse in 2012 when Toomey led the program to the school’s first-ever NCAA Division I Championship when Loyola went 17-1. He has been involved in 18 of Loyola’s 26 NCAA D-I Tournament appearances in program history – three as a player, five as an assistant coach and 10 as a head coach. As a head coach, the team has spent time ranked No. 1 in four different seasons, something never before accomplished at the school.

Led by Hall of Fame coach Diane Geppi-Aikens, the 1997 Women’s Lacrosse Team is the only squad in program history to reach the NCAA Championship Game. The Greyhounds reeled off nine-straight wins to start the season, rising to No. 2 in the IWLCA national poll. Despite a pair of one-goal setbacks to Virginia and James Madison, Loyola rolled into College Park to face the University of Maryland and promptly defeated the top-ranked Terrapins, snapping their 50-game winning streak. The Greyhounds topped sixth-ranked William & Mary, 11-2, in the NCAA Quarterfinal before beating No. 8 North Carolina, 10-8, in the Semifinal. Loyola was then narrowly edged, 8-7, in the NCAA Championship Game by Maryland. Five Greyhounds earned IWLCA First or Second Team All-America recognition in 1997. Kerri Johnson, Michelle Meyer and Stephanie Roberts were named to the first team, while Krystin Porcella and Allison Valentino garnered second-team nods.