On Sunday down in Maryland, the Boston Canons defeated the Denver Outlaws 13-to-10 to win the 2020 Major League Lacrosse Championship. With the win, it marks the first championship won by a Boston area sports team since the New England Patriots defeated the Los Angles Rams on 2/3/19 to win Super Bowl LIII.

Boston commanded this entire game outscoring the Outlaws in each quarter respectively. Leading the way for the Cannons was Jonathan Uppgren who scored a game-high five goals and tacked on an assist for a game-high six points. Right behind him was Mark Cockerton who scored three goals of his own. In-between the pipes Nick Marrocco was nails making 10 saves on 19 shots for a .526 save percentage.

This is the second time in franchise history and the first time since 2011 that the Boston Cannons have won the Major League Lacrosse Championship. As for Head Coach Sean Quirk, this is his first MLL Championship and a culmination of years of building the Cannons into a quality team. Just this past off-season Quirk and company made major trades that netted Randy Staats and Byrce Wasserman who both had major contributions to the 2020 Cannons. Wasserman was named the 2020 MLL League MVP following the game for having scored 15 goals, eight assists, for 21 points while also scooping up 10 ground balls.

The Cannons were put into the Championship game after both the Chesapeake Bayhawks and the Connecticut Hammerheads forfeited due to positive COVID-19 tests. That forfeiting resulted in both Denver and Boston moving on to the championship without a need for a semifinal bout.