This Piece is on US Lacrosse.

The 20th anniversary season for Major League Lacrosse (MLL) will air on ESPN2 and ESPN+, beginning on Saturday, July 18. The abbreviated season, to be played at Navy Marine Corps Memorial Stadium, in Annapolis, Md., will include 15 games, followed by a four-team playoff (July 25), concluding with the championship game on Sunday, July 26, at 2 p.m. on ESPN2.

Play-by-play commentators Joe Beninati and Booker Corrigan, analysts Quint Kessenich and Don Zimmerman, and reporter Courtney Fallon will be on-site for the duration of the season, safely covering the action.

Coverage will include enhanced field audio with wireless mics in the goals and on officials to capture game action and calls.

“ESPN is the worldwide leader in sports for a reason. We are thrilled to once again have our games on their family of networks,” MLL Commissioner Alexander Brown said. “The sport of lacrosse at both the collegiate and professional level has seen tremendous growth through its partnership and promotion on the ESPN platform. ESPN is broadening their promotion, activation and exposure for MLL this season, and we look forward to welcoming ESPN viewers as they tune into MLL’s 20th anniversary season.”

“ESPN has been a longstanding proponent for the growth of lacrosse, and we are proud to celebrate in Major League Lacrosse’s 20th anniversary season,” said Dan Margulis, ESPN senior director of programming. “We are excited to see professional leagues like MLL back on the field and look forward to delivering the action to fans.”

The season starts July 18, when all six teams get started. The Philadelphia Barrage will play their first MLL game since 2008 against the reigning champion Chesapeake Bayhawks in the opening game of the 2020 season at 1 p.m ET. Later that afternoon, the New York Lizards will face the Boston Cannons, and the Connecticut Hammerheads will play their first game in franchise history when they take on the Denver Outlaws. The three games can be seen on ESPN+.

On July 19, ESPN2 will feature a double-header to lead its Sunday afternoon programming. At 1 p.m. ET, the Chesapeake Bayhawks will take on their arch-rival, the New York Lizards. The second game of the day will see the 2019 runner-up Denver Outlaws play the Philadelphia Barrage at 4 p.m ET.

Beginning Monday, July 20, through Friday, July 24, two games will be played every day at 4 p.m. and 7 p.m ET. The ten games will be shown on ESPN+. Check out the full schedule below.


Date Time (ET) Matchup Network/Platform
Sat., July 18 1 p.m. Barrage at Bayhawks ESPN+
Sat., July 18 4 p.m. Lizards at Cannons ESPN+
Sat., July 18 7 p.m. Hammerheads at Outlaws ESPN+
Sun., July 19 1 p.m. Bayhawks at Lizards ESPN2
Sun., July 19 4 p.m. Outlaws at Barrage ESPN2
Mon., July 20 4 p.m. Barrage at Hammerheads ESPN+
Mon., July 20 7 p.m. Cannons at Bayhawks ESPN+
Tues., July 21 4 p.m. Barrage at Cannons ESPN+
Tues., July 21 7 p.m. Outlaws at Lizards ESPN+
Wed., July 22 4 p.m. Hammerheads at Lizards ESPN+
Wed., July 22 7 p.m. Bayhawks at Outlaws ESPN+
Thurs., July 23 4 p.m. Lizards at Barrage ESPN+
Thurs., July 23 7 p.m. Cannons at Hammerheads ESPN+
Fri., July 24 4 p.m. Hammerheads at Bayhawks ESPN+
Fri., July 24 7 p.m. Outlaws at Cannons ESPN+
Sat., July 25 1 p.m. Seed 4 at Seed 1 ESPN+
Sat., July 25 4 p.m. Seed 3 at Seed 2 ESPN+
Sun., July 26 2 p.m. Semi 2 Winner at Semi 1 Winner ESPN2