The Premier Lacrosse League has announced that Zions Bank Stadium in Herriman, Utah, will host the PLL Championship Series this summer.

The 5,000-capacity Zions Bank Stadium is principally the home of United Soccer League Championship team Real Monarchs. It is also part of a wider state-of-the-art training academy for Major League Soccer’s Real Salt Lake.

All seven PLL clubs will be accommodated for room and board, training, and competition at the facilities’ numerous playing fields.

“The support of Utah Governor Gary Herbert, Real Salt Lake owner Dell Loy Hansen, and the larger Utah Sports Commission have been invaluable in the process of bringing the PLL Championship Series to a reality,” says PLL co-founder and chief executive Mike Rabil. “With their world-class operators and state-of-the-art facilities we can bring our best version of the PLL to fans around the world.”

The PLL’s 2020 season was originally scheduled to begin on May 29 at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts, and tour North America across numerous major markets over 15 weeks, before it was postponed due to the coronavirus crisis.

In its place will be the 16-day PLL Championship Series, which is due to take place from July 25-August 6 and will be broadcast across NBC networks, helping to fill the the US network’s programming void from the rescheduled 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Over the two-week window, the league’s seven teams – including expansion team Waterdogs Lacrosse Club – will compete in a 14-game group-play format to determine seeding for the following week’s single-elimination tournament.

The 20 total games will be aired on broadcast network NBC, cable channel NBCSN, and NBC Sports Gold. All televised games will also be streamed live on or the network’s app. The result will be one of the most concentrated showcases of lacrosse ever in the US, particularly as it relates to broadcast television.

Ticketmaster is the title sponsor of the PLL Championship Series, having joined as a commercial partner earlier this year. Four or five more sponsors are expected to be added before the event begins.

Zions Bank Stadium will also stage the National Women’s Soccer League’s summer tournament, the “2020 NWSL Challenge Cup”, which will take place from June 27-July 26.

The latter stages of the competition will be held at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, leaving Zions Bank Stadium free for the Premier Lacrosse League.